Israel is the only [fill in the blank] Democracy in the Middle East.

OK, I’ll make this quick. Nobody has called me on it, but ever since I cross-posted the GIYUS interview with Minister Begin in which he asserted that Israel is not the only Middle East democracy (at least not technically), I’ve been noticing significant qualifications to that statement.

The latest comes from Israel’s Ambassador to the United States Michael Oren. In his essay The Ultimate Ally published in Foreign Policy Magazine Ambassador Oren points out that (among other major qualifications),

Israel has remained the Middle East’s only functional democracy.

I think that narrows down the definition even further than what I’d related in last Friday’s post.

Is there a chance that any real democracies will emerge from the Arab revolts which are still taking place? Not much of one, in my more or less humble opinion. At least not anything that will hold a candle to Israel.

That’s it for now; I said I’d keep this short.

Comments Off on Israel is the only [fill in the blank] Democracy in the Middle East.

Filed under Perspectives

Comments are closed.