Neither a politician nor a pundit be…

See the latest scenes from Egypt following clashes between protesters and police: SkyNews Hey y’all, I just found out why I’ve been so quiet lately. The Big Story this past week has been the turmoil in Egypt. I’ve been inclined to think that, of all the scenarios and warnings put forth, the most worrisome thought has been the potential for a repeat of what happened in Iran of 1978, or Cuba of 1959 for that matter. Barry Rubin does a very thorough job of laying out the dangers, and also a few hopes inherent in the situation.

But having said that, I still feel that there is much more to be seen. Indeed there have been a good many twists and turns in this road, and more may be expected. Some fourth party contacts (can they really be called contacts at that point?) reported over the weekend that the situation on the streets had deteriorated to the point where the main concern is not regime change, but protecting one’s home and immediate family from looting and other personal violence.

So what do I know, or what can I say? I read something in INN this morning that expresses my viewpoint well:

It is the prophet Amos who said that "the wise man would be silent at that time…"

The prophet Amos’ dictum cannot be adhered to by politicians who must supply interviews and project the image that they are controlling events. The  same goes for talking heads and pundits who must demonstrate their predictive abilities…

I’m certainly not a politician, nor yet really a pundit, and certainly not a talking head. So I’m safe, yes?

Well, none of us are really safe, but sometimes we just have to take it, not merely a day at a time, but a moment at a time.

Talk to y’all later. In the meantime, watch with me, will you?

Comments Off on Neither a politician nor a pundit be…

Filed under News snippets, Perspectives

Comments are closed.