Huckabee the Maccabee

 

“My question is how would the government of the United States feel if Prime Minister Netanyahu began to dictate which people could live in the Bronx, which ones could live in Manhattan, which could live in Queens, and say, ‘We only allow certain people to live in those neighborhoods,’” he said. “How would that go over? It wouldn’t go over very well.”

Former Arkansas governor and presidential contender Mike Huckabee has been in Israel most of this week, and he has come out as an unabashed supporter of Israelis’ right to self-determination, more so, it appears, than the Israeli government itself. 

“I’d like to think that the rights of Jewish people in their own homeland would be the same as the rights of American people in their homeland,” Huckabee said. “We take our rights very seriously.”

I also read something in Arutz7 (Israel National News, which does a great job of more detailed reporting  than some) which I hadn’t thought of before, something that was brought to the forefront through this visit:

Maaleh Adumim is a city just to the east of Jerusalem with nearly 40,000 residents. Huckabee visited the city this morning, and met briefly with Mayor Benny Kashriel…

“As you can see,” the mayor told the former governor, “the land is desolate, and we are not pushing out any Arabs from their homes…”

Uh, yeah.  I hadn’t considered that.  The settlers are not “occupying” or displacing previous residents.  They are developing unused land, bringing with them jobs and money.  Which is a big part of the reason that the locals we never hear about quietly support these activities. 

And also related to why the vast majority of Israeli Arabs, given the choice, would rather remain Israeli Arabs, according to a recent Harvard study.  Blasphemy, you say?  Well, it’s doubtless a good topic for another post, but in the meantime, you can also read about it here.  Or here.

Enough digression, but it’s worth saying that I should have thought of this already.  We all should have.  Which again calls attention to why I created this blog: we need to be informed of these things which the mainstream Western media consistently avoid or cover up.  Or outright lie about.

I’m thankful that most of the Israeli media have been giving Huckabee’s visit good coverage, in Ynet and Jerusalem Post, as well as in Israel National News.  I encourage the reader to check it out; it is not my intention to duplicate the coverage here.  But I haven’t seen all that much reporting on it here in the States.  Some, but not what it deserves. So I want to shout it out a little.  Maybe somebody who doesn’t read JPost will see this here. 

If so, I’d like to think I’ve done my job; I’m just a lineman.

Comments Off on Huckabee the Maccabee

Filed under Forward motion

Comments are closed.